Mawson Lakes Student Representative: April Report – Gagandeep Kaur

Hello again!


The month of April was swamped with assessment deadlines and other commitments. Can’t believe its May already.


On the 6th, I had a meeting with Bridget Laffy and Sam Bhattacharjee to plan the Mawson Lakes Rep Catch-up event. The event took place today from 11-2pm and we served free pancakes and hot drinks. We also had the opportunity to speak to students at the Mawson Lakes campus and introduce ourselves and tell them about what we do as student representatives.


As April is Respect Month, there were a number of activities and workshops organised by UniSA and I participated in the crafts workshop at Mawson Lakes. Being an artist, it was extremely calming to be decorating pots using my creativity. It was a great event as I got to hear some new and enlightening ideas about what respect means to different people and what are some of the green flags in relationships.


I sat my first Academic Integrity Formal Inquiry meeting on the 14th for UniSA STEM. I was very nervous about the meeting at first since it was my first academic integrity formal inquiry meeting, but the meeting went well and the panel was very supportive and help me get briefed with each step. it was a new experience for me and now I am much more confident about sitting in such a meeting in the future.


We had the board meeting on the 19th along with the AGM. a reconciliation committee was successfully formed during the board meeting. The committee will focus on proper representation and support of indigenous students.


I chaired the second Clubs Committee meeting of the year on the 21st of April and during the meeting, I opened the floor to discussions and feedback about the Club Executives Training, Campus Fair and any potential ideas for Clubs Awards this year. There were some great ideas, and I am looking forward to working with USASA Clubs Staff on putting those ideas into action. The DEA meeting was cancelled in April due to the lack of agenda items.


I was scheduled to attend the Sexual Assault and Sexual Harassment Steering group meeting on the 2nd of May, but I could not make it due to personal reasons.

Thats all for April!

Feel free to reach out to me at kaugy023@mymail.unisa.edu.au.

Leave a comment