Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Student Representative Welcome & February Report

Hi All,

sophie

Despite the fact that it is March and many of you have been studying throughout the summer, I would just like to take the opportunity to say: Welcome back for 2016! And congratulations to all of the commencing students! You made it past what many call the greatest challenge of University, enrolment!

I trust you all had a restful break and are ready for a brand new year of study and personal growth. If you are around City West please drop in and catch up, I would love to hear about how you spent your holidays. Currently I am still located in the Yungondi Building on Level 2, Room 52.

Summary of activity- Month of February

This month has been a really big learning curve, on February 4th I completed my induction as USASA’s Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Student Representative and on the 8th I attended my first Board Meeting. In addition to this, as I have multiple responsibilities on campus, acting as the Indigenous Student Services Officer for City West Campus and sitting on the Deadly Alumni Executive Committee, I have been keeping very busy.

Friday the 12th of February marked the anniversary of the National Apology to the Stolen Generations and I was fortunate enough to attend the Apology Breakfast at the Convention Centre. On the 19th of February Indigenous Student Services hosted a Welcome and Information event for commencing and continuing Indigenous students where we discussed the services available at UniSA including USASA and the Advocacy Service. In addition to this I was run off my feet for O Week attending the Orientation for the Indigenous Cultures and Australian Society students, City West Open Day and Representing USASA at City East Campus on Friday the 26th.

Finally, throughout the month I have been developing a Cultural Competency Lecture and Workshop which I delivered in Mt Gambier and Whyalla in early March. This assisted me to reach out to some of the Indigenous Students at our Regional Campuses as well.

Leave a Reply

